Wednesday, April 17, 2024

‘The dumbest rule in swimming’: College swimmer stripped of title after celebrating with teammate

Must read

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

A swimmer from North Carolina State University, Owen Lloyd, won the 1,650-yard freestyle title at the Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) Championships in February. However, he got disqualified because he celebrated with his teammate before everyone finished. According to the NCAA rules, if a swimmer changes lanes during a race, they can be disqualified. Owen’s teammate, Ross Dant, called it the “dumbest rule in swimming,” saying Owen deserved the win, and his excitement was just part of the sport. The decision sparked criticism, with many questioning the strict enforcement of rules and lack of consistency in other races. The incident left Owen upset, but his teammate later gave him the first-place medal in a show of support. The controversy has drawn widespread criticism, with people expressing frustration over what they see as an unnecessary and harsh decision.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

More articles

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest article